Main content start

Zale Lecture and Award

The Morris B. and Edna Zale Lectureship was established in 1980 and seeks to bring policy leaders from a broad spectrum of public and private sectors for a lecture open to the Stanford community. In addition to the lecture, the Public Policy Program honors the selected speaker with the Zale Award for Public Service. 

The lecture and award ceremony are typically held each year in the Spring quarter with a special luncheon. A Public Policy graduate student is chosen to introduce the award recipient and present them with a personalized plaque. 

Read about prior Zale lecture award winners below. 

2023, Samuel Liccardo

2022, Senator pro Tempore Toni Atkins

2021, Dr. Sarah Cody

2019, Justice Tina Cuéllar

2018, Kevin Warsh

The Public Policy Program is grateful for the support of the Morris B. and Edna Zale Foundation for the creation and ongoing sponsorship of the annual lecture and award event.